Glass demo

Today I gave a demonstration of glass techniques to a arts and crafts group in North Wales; we covered the basics starting with a presentation with a few slides on how glass was made, the history of stained glass and explained some of the terminology.

 

I then gave a practical demo of cutting glass - straight lines to curves, copper foiling and soldering. There were about 20 people at the demo and most had an opportunity to cut some glass themselves and have a go with the copper foiling machine. As a group, we prepared a small light catcher, which after a soldering looked very impressive - all made in less than an hour.

 

Then it was on to using lead came, I showed how lead can be temperamental to cut and loses its shape easily; then a soldering demo of how easy it is to melt lead if you are not paying attention!

 

Everyone seemed to enjoy the morning and I hope to see them again.

 

I will be starting providing some glass courses either at my workshop or to groups in the near future, so watch the website as I will have a new glass lessons tab soon.

 

 

Andy

Write a comment

Comments: 0